Understanding Chakras: The Best Gift For Yourself

Understanding chakras is probably the best decision you’ll ever make, for beginners understanding the 7 chakra system can be a challenge, but not impossible. For the sake of your mind, body, soul, and to be mentally, physically, emotionally, spiritually, and maybe even financially grounded and improved, understanding chakras individually and understanding the 7 chakra system as a collective will do wonders, let’s start—right now!

What does ‘chakra mean?’

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘spinning wheel’. These are a system of seven energy centres located along the spine. Each chakra corresponds to an area of the body, a set of behavioural characteristics, and stages of spiritual growth. This is what is known as the 7 chakra system, it’s essentially points of spinning energy ‘wheels’ in the body.

If the chakras are ‘blocked’ or unclear this can cause many negative experiences that can impact on a person mentally, physically, emotionally, and spiritually. The best thing anyone can do once they understand the 7 chakra system is to learn how to open and clear them. Each chakra point in the 7 chakra system is associated with a colour also.

How to open your chakras

The best, easiest, cheapest, and straight forward way to learn how to open chakras is via meditation. Meditation is free, can be done anywhere at any time, and has so many other benefits. A guided meditation may be the best way to open your chakras for beginners.  Also, practicing yoga and focusing your energies during different postures can help you to align your chakras, and get all the wheels spinning in the same direction and speed. Understanding how to fine tune and control your chakras through yoga and meditation can help bring balance and peace to your mind, body, and spirit.

The 7 chakra system

There are seven chakras, each associated with a different part of the body along the spine from the perineum to the crown of your head. Each chakra is associated with a particular body location, a colour,  central emotional/behavioural issues that are both positive, and negative (when chakras are blocked.) As well as many other personal aspects including identity, goals, rights, etc.

Understanding Chakras:

  • Muladhara– base of the spine or otherwise know as ‘root’ in English. The colour red is associated with this point. The root chakra focused on a person’s security, safety, and grounding in life, it’s about stability.
  • Svadhisthana– abdomen, genitals, lower back/hip or otherwise known as ‘sacral’ in English. The colour orange is associated with this point. The sacral chakra focused on a person’s ability to enjoy life, sexual relationships, and creativity.
  • Manipura– located just above the belly button otherwise known as ‘solar plexus’ in English. The colour yellow is associated with this chakra point. The solar plexus chakra focuses on a person’s confidence, strength, courage, ability to learn and focus, and be creative.
  • Anahata– located in the centre of the chest area, otherwise known as ‘heart chakra’, in English. The colours green and pink are associated with this point, most commonly it’s green. The heart chakra focuses on a person’s emotions, ability to ogive and receive love, and is the chakra associated with all other chakras. If this point is blocked, it’s likely the others will be impacted too.
  • Vishuddha- located at the base of the throat, or otherwise known as the ‘throat chakra’. The colour blue is associated with this point. The throat chakra focuses on a person’s ability to be authentic, speak and live out their truth, communicate with others, be honest, and transparent with what they need and desire.
  • Ajna- located between the eyes, otherwise known as the ‘third eye’ chakra. The colour indigo is associated with this point. The third eye chakra focuses on a person’s spiritual connection, ability to see the truth in things, ability to know and understand life and others, and connection to other spiritual realm, or psychic abilities if they have them.
  • Sahasrara- located just above the head, otherwise known as the ‘crown chakra.’ The colour white is often associated here or purple. The crown chakra focuses on a person’s connection to their higher self, God, source, spirit, the universe, and their ability to receive information. This chakra is about ‘oneness’ with the universe and the world around them.

Through the movements and postures of yoga, and meditation, you can learn to focus your concentration and energy to and from the various chakras in your body. This can allow you to compensate for areas that may be out of sync with the rest of your body, or not active at all. By balancing the energy among all seven of the chakras, balance can be achieved for a person and in their life.

This spiritual energy is known as Kundalini energy. Kundalini energy is located at the base of the spine. In many cultures and especially in Kundalini yoga in its dormant state, it can be visualised as a coiled up snake resting at the base of your spine, the Muladhara chakra. Since the chakras act as valves or pumps regulating the flow of energy through your system, controlled and purposeful movements such as yoga, and especially Kundalini yoga, can be extremely beneficial in realigning your chakras in a way that can cause great benefits to you in your physical and emotional wellbeing. The same can be said for controlled breathing only, during meditation. Even a walking meditation where you are focus  on your breathing, outside in nature can do wonders for activating the 7 chakra system, and pushing energy from and to where it is needed. All you need to do is focus on your breath, regulate your breathing, and imagine that as you inhale and exhale you are sending your breath to each chakra point, and there is movement. Or imagine that this point in your body is becoming more open, starting from your base to your crown chakra.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *